CARLA ARAGÓN'S BLOG

Uplifting the Spirit using my voice & talent.

June Highlights

Wow, what a month it’s been!  June has flown by–now half the year is over!

I wanted to share some of the awesome events I’ve attended and show you a couple pictures.  The month kicked off with the Chama Book Fair on June 4-6.  The featured speaker was David Morrell, the author of the book “First Blood” which launched the Rambo movies.

Carla Aragón and David Morrell

David has written dozens of books, including “Lessons From a Lifetime of Writing.”  He showed the group a documentary on the making of Rambo and talked about how it launched his writing career.  I learned that the character “Rambo” was modeled after War Hero Audie Murphy and the name Rambo was inspired by an apple David bit into (The Rambo Apple).

This was my first book fair and it was terrific.  I met some wonderful folks from Chama and other New Mexico authors (and bought many of their books).  I sold several of my books and CDs.  Special thanks to Jill Lane for organizing the event.

****************

Next stop on the June Tour was Nambe, New Mexico at the Estrella Del Norte Wine Festival on June 12th.  The vineyard is owned by my cousin Eileen Vigil Reinders and her husband, Richard.

Friends at the Festival

Despite the gusts of wind that challenged all the vendors, there were tons of people who went.

The night was capped off by an exquisite Wine Dinner.  Salud!

*****************

June 19th was date for a Book Reading and Broom Dance Demonstration at the Spanish Colonial Arts Museum in Santa Fe.  If you haven’t been to the museum, try to visit.  It’s up on Museum Hill and it’s a wonderful place–great exhibits and history of Spanish Colonial Art.

The Spanish Colonial Art Museum has asked me to Emcee its Young Artists Presentation during Spanish Market on the Plaza at 11:00 a.m. on Sunday, July 25th.  I’ll have a book signing right after at 12:30 p.m.  Come on by!

****************

For those of you who know me, I’ve tried to help in the fight against Cancer.  On June 25-26th, my stepdaughters hosted a Silent Auction and Golf Tournament for the Lasso The Moon Foundation which benefits Cancer patients and their families being treated at the New Mexico Cancer Center.  I donated a book and CD with a School reading for the Silent Auction.  Many thank to Kathy Kunkel who got the winning bid and to everyone who donated and bought dozens of cool items.  Close to $20-thousand dollars was raised for Lasso the Moon.  Kudos to Sarah, Jamie, and Katie.

**************

And finally, I got a chance to do an appearance in the Village of Los Ranchos where I live.  I did a book signing on Sunday, June 27th at the Village Barn during the Lavender Festival.  It was wonderful visiting with the crowd and friends I hadn’t seen in a while.  Many Thanks to Barbe Awalt and Paul Rhett from the New Mexico Book Coop for spearheading the booth and signings.  They have helped many New Mexico Authors on so many levels!

Article on Carla

July Issue Albuquerque The Magazine

Barbe also wrote an article on me and the book for the July issue of  “Albuquerque Magazine.”  It’s on page 211–and I got two pages!  Yahoo!  Mil gracias Barbe and Albuquerque Magazine!

June 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, Carla!
    I loved reading of your terrific adventures. I am so very happy for you! Your book has been quite a success, being enjoyed by others, as well in the generations to come!
    Your spirit and love of God and life itself is seen through your beautiful eyes and words, whether they are in writing or in a verbal conversation.
    God Bless!
    Marie Turney Morrison

    Comment by srhelen | June 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

